Sight Vs sound – Which could you live without?

I gather this may be a touchy subject, but nonetheless, I’m going to talk about it. I don’t wish to make anyone feel uncomfortable.

It’s something that I’ve always wondered. I know that if you are without one sense, all the others are heightened. I know of people who have either of these two in limited condition (sorry couldn’t think of a better word). For me, I’m not sure what I would do if I were to be without either. I like to think of myself as a person who likes to visualise things, but then again, I love the sound of things too. Be it music, or animals, or even something simple such as flowing water.

If I close my eyes, I have the ability to visualise something that I’m listening to. But I don’t know if I’d be able to do it so well knowing that I couldn’t open my eyes and see a normal. In pure darkness, even though you can’t see a thing, somehow, the quiet seems to magnify sounds. If you can’t hear, you can’t hear, unless you have the help of a hearing aid.

I guess the reason why I’m asking this is because there have been things I’ve seen and things that I’ve heard, and I just wonder would I have reacted better had I not seen or heard such? I don’t know. I feel the two go hand in hand. I think some things you witness visually are easier to forget than those that you hear.

But why is this so? Is it even so? Not that it matters. It’s all in the science. I’m not going to go into the research of it all. Maybe the Greeks know why? (Apparently they have the answers to most things)

*Shrugs*

To be honest, I haven’t a clue.

It’s easy to look at something but not see it, same as it’s easy to hear something but not listen to it. Could that be the reason why some visuals or sounds seem to remain with us throughout our lives? Or could it be the impact or severity of such that it remains deep within our subconscious only to be awakened with deep, serious remembering?

Besides, don’t deaf people “hear” via sign language and don’t blind people “see” by feeling and sometimes by hearing? I remember seeing an episode of the Oprah show on time and the one guest was blind if I remember correctly, and she had told the audience not to applaud as he came on stage because he, how do I describe it…. He makes a clicking sound with his tongue and somehow manages to identify different objects because he’s then able to recognise the different sounds bouncing off objects and surfaces. It was quite remarkable to see how he’s learnt to do that.

Bless his soul, I’ve just read he passed on in 2009. His name is Ben Underwood.

All I know is that I’m very grateful that I am able to still live with both my sight (even if I do wear specs) and my hearing. Not to say those that don’t are missing out or anything. I have found out that it is manageable to live without either. People do find a way to cope and live as normal, and if you’re able to live as normal as though you do have sight or hearing, then where is the “disability”?

Not really sure if I made my point, but I just wanted to say something about it. Why? I don’t know. Just something different to talk about I guess.

Like I mentioned briefly before, I love sounds just as much as I love sights. One of the most enjoyable sounds has got to be laughter, be it of a baby, a child, an adult or an elderly person. But at the same time, I do love to look at things and see the beauty of it all. Art (be it visual or sound) is amazing if you understand its complexity and beauty.

I think this has got to be one of the longest posts I’ve ever done, wowee.  Go me. lol 

I hope as you read this (if you dare) that you’re having or have had a feat day.

Till next time

Stay safe 🙂 

Leave a Reply

