Is It Fair?

Happy Friday all (assuming you are having a good one. Me, not so much but anyways)

Ok so here’s my question.

Is it fair or right to go seek advice or comfort in someone else who is dealing with far more things than you are? Even if they come to you first and tell you that you may?

I don’t know about you, but doing that, just makes me feel guilty. Makes me feel super bad just laying out all my troubles when they don’t even compare to the amount of stuff they’re going through. Don’t get me wrong, I love my people who look out for me and care about me and stuff, but sometimes I just hold back on their offer. Half the time I can’t even explain it to them because I have no clue as to where to begin.

I’m not the type of person to always go to someone when I have a dilemma or I’ve got the case of the blues. I’ve always dealt with things on my own. I sometimes hate going to people. I don’t really know how to do it. I don’t like the pity feeling you know. (Not that that’s what they do). It’s just a feeling and predicted reaction I sense and feel at times. 

Is it just me who has this little problem of finding it difficult to go to people for help, advice & clarity?

*Shrugs*

Anyways, that’s all for this post. Back to bed I go.

Till next time.

Stay safe.

8 thoughts on “Is It Fair?

  1. Hello again!

    No, you’re definitely not alone in that department! No matter what kind of reassurance I am given by someone, I just couldn’t “let it all out” – so to speak. What I would probably do in that scenario is take a long, hard look at their situation and take comfort in realising my own situation is nowhere near as bad as it seems (especially in comparison to theirs!) Therefore re-storing some much needed optimism 🙂

    Good post, some people would definitely not feel as hesitant/guilty to ‘pour’ everything out like you or I would. I think it’s called being receptive to the world around us! Haha.

    • Hiyaya *waves*

      I kinda do take comfort but at the same time it kinda makes me feel like a bad friend for not being more there for them you know. Why do I have so much compassion? You know I was once called an “indigo child” because I care and feel too much for other people to the point where I feel what they’re going through.

      But in me comparing the two situations, am I therefore saying my problem (however small or big it may be) is insignificant?

      Thanks for your insight, always great to hear an outsiders perspective 🙂

      • *Waves back* haha 🙂

        I think you’re just accustomed to putting others first and being perceptive to others sensitivities, the problem I find with being too much on that side of the scale is – people wrongly assume you NEVER have your own issues. Therefore you kinda feel like “nobody gives a damn” been there a few times lol. I guess it’s a balancing act (a tough one at that!)

      • Hey presto (as my maths teacher used to say) I think you’ve got it. Oh people know I have my issues, but I always push mine aside to be there for everyone else. Its EXHAUSTING at times. It is a balancing act, but I’m not that kind of super hero. lol

      • I’m a reasonable analyst aren’t I? Haha 🙂 That’s one of my strengths, although I can relate quite well to your “being there for everyone else” scenario. I guess you’ve just got to maintain the faith that all your positive efforts will be returned back to you!

        *Crosses fingers*

      • Here’s hoping eh? Unfortunately there’s only a handful (2 at most-unless you’re a hybrid or something and have more lol) of people who would do unto me as I would them. Guess that’s life right?

      • As much as I’d love to pour a coating of sugar over all this and say: you’re wrong. Sadly, I think you maybe right 😦 But hey, quality > quantity…….always 🙂

      • What was the phrase that Miss Congeniality said? “People care about people, who care about themselves”? Sometimes I want to believe that. Aaaaaaaand now I want something sugar coated. Thanks!

Leave a comment