24th January

Who knew letting go, accepting and moving on would feel this empowering. Every day I learn something new about myself. I quite like this journey of self-discovery I’m on.

I’m glad that I realised that I am not responsible for other people’s behaviour or actions. I let people walk all over me and treat me like shit for far too long. Just because we’re friends or family doesn’t give you the right to be rude and disrespectful towards me and then still expect me to be there for you in your time of need. I am a nice person. A good person. Who feels a lot at times. Even when you’ve done me wrong I still feel like I have to help. But even nice people have their limits. And I’ve certainly reached mind.

So no more. I won’t allow anyone to bring me down in any way, shape or form. I’ve excused it far longer than I should have.

I’m taking care of myself. I’m becoming a better person these days and you know what? I love it! I really do. Since walking away from certain people and situations I feel better. People have tried their level best to get a reaction out of me, but I don’t give them what they want. I don’t get irritates or any as much and for that I am a lot calmer.

And just because I choose to dismiss their antics, doesn’t mean that I allow or accept their behaviour. Because I don’t. At all. It just means that I now have the mental strength and capacity to know that I can deal and handle with whatever people throw at me.

I’m sorry but I just don’t care anymore. And by that I mean I no longer care for people with bad, negative attitudes towards me. Nope. Not anymore.

Accepting, letting go and moving on has got to be one of the best things I could have ever done for (or to) myself. I no longer have the feeling of obligation. I don’t feel bad or guilty when I say no.

I’m learning so much about myself every day. I’m becoming a better person. I’m learning to like, love and accept myself for who and what I am. I have a sense of inner peace and calmness about me. That doesn’t mean I still don’t react to things, I do, but in a better way than I used to.

I have more ambition, more determination and I’m gaining confidence through this every day. I know that I’m capable of doing things that I used to be fearful of trying.

I’m still on this journey of self-discovery. It hasn’t been an easy road to get to where I am in my life, but I will continue to walk it every day at my own pace with my head held high.

The struggle continues but I’m a fighter and I’ll be damned if I give up after having come this far.

I wish I had started this self-discovery journey a long time ago. Who knows the kind of person I could have been today….

P.s If what I’ve been saying doesn’t really make much sense (I feel I may have repeated myself several times) then go and listen to a song by Alicia Keys called “Brand New Me”. That song explains perfectly how I’ve been feeling for quite some time.

Leave a Reply

