25th November – An Awesome Thing I Read

“Talking openly about your mental health is not attention seeking.”

I came across this the other day and thought YES!

Everytime I say anything related on a specific social media website, I can practically hear people saying “what’s she saying now?”

I don’t expect people to understand, but sometimes we just need to “cry” in the form of venting. I for one don’t talk about my mental state for sympathy, I don’t want that. It’d be nice to get a little empathy but if not, no biggie. But I guess talking about it (well at least on my blog) helps me deal with my feelings a little.

I always get told to talk to someone, or go to the doc, but the truth is, I’m not ready to. And I cannot force myself to do so just because others keep on insisting I do so.

There’s a quote – “Don’t base your decisions on the advice of people who don’t have to deal with the results.”

People are always full of suggestions to “problems” they have no idea about or how the person deals with their issues.

Support and understanding without judgement is what people with mental health issues need.

I know I sure would love that…

P.s I wrote this when I was super tired, if it doesn’t make much sense, I apologise.

Leave a Reply

